Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award

The Robert D. Ray Awards are our organization’s highest honor and reflect former Governor Ray’s lifelong commitment to civility and character development.

The Pillar of Character Award was presented to Governor Ray in 2003 for his visionary leadership and inspiration to meet our mission as well as the exemplary character he demonstrates. The Award was then named in honor of Governor Ray as the founder and board chairman of Character Counts In Iowa.

The Ray Legacy Award
Presented to individuals who demonstrate good character and provide leadership and inspiration to meet our mission. The Robert D. Ray Legacy Award is presented at the Iowa Character Awards banquet.

2012     Dr. David Maxwell, Drake University video
2011     Deb Chiodo, Cornell Elementary School  video
2010    Dr. Tom Lickona & Dr. Matt Davidson, Smart & Good High Schools Report video
2009    Jim Hallihan, Iowa Sports Foundation    video
2008    Marvin Pomerantz, businessman & philanthropist   video
2007    Bernie Saggau, Iowa High School Athletic Association   video
2006    Joe D. Batten, author & leadership expert   video
2005    Troyce Fisher, education leader
2002    Michael Josephson, founder of CHARACTER COUNTS!
2001    Jim Mayse, first principal in Iowa to implement CHARACTER COUNTS!
2001    Michael Cheney, Drake University Provost


The Ray Exemplar Award
Presented to individuals who consistently demonstrate good character as a visible role model. The Robert D. Ray Exemplar Award is presented at An All-Star Evening to benefit Character Counts In Iowa.

2012     Aaron Kampman video
2011     Ed Thomas (posthumously) video
2010    Dallas Clark    video (part 1) video (part 2)
2009    Shawn Johnson
2008    Dr. Tom Davis   video
2007    Hayden Fry    video
2001    Norman Borlaug

Check out our Flickr page for photos of the award presentations.


Just Give

1213 25th Street     |     Des Moines, IA 50311     |     515-271-1910     |     Email Us

© 2013 Character Counts In Iowa